2013 Officers Meeting Notes

March 28, 2103

Re:   Catalina 34 International Association Year 2013 Annual Officers Meeting

Dear Catalina 34 International Association Members, Officers and Board Members;

The Annual Meeting of the Catalina 34 International Association Officers was held via telephone conference call on Wednesday, March 6, 2013, 8:00 P.M. Eastern Standard Time, 5:00 P.M. Pacific Standard Time.  The meeting concluded at 9:55 p.m. EST.

The 2013 International Officers are listed after these meeting.  Participants in this teleconference included Lance Jones, Paul Erb, Ken Juul, Jack Hutteball, Jon Arck, Stu Jackson, Ken Heyman, Ray Irvine, and Ron Hill.   Dave Sanner, Dave Davis, Bob Kuba, John Nixon, and Michael Shaner were absent.

The meeting was based on the emailed agenda, dated February 23, 2013.


1.   Financial Report & Projections – Treasurer Ken Heyman
a.   Cash is approximately $20.5K.  Projections for 2014 indicate another gain of $2,550 with decreasing membership and somewhat reduced expenses, compared to gains of  $2,400 last year and $1K in 2011.  Cash balance continues to grow.
b.   Statement and projections accepted as presented.
c.   The steadily increasing bank balance is a cause for concern.  Discussed as early as 2006, the Officers felt that only a half year worth of reserves was required as a minimum balance, which would be around $7K.  We discussed different methods of utilizing this balance.  Stu made a motion, seconded by Ray: “In order to reduce the bank balance, extend existing membership free for one year, add a notice that instead of renewal requests this one time dividend was being provided.  The Officers Meeting Notes, the Message Board and Mainsheet would also be used to advise membership of this bonus.”  Motion passed, no opposition.
1)   Stu will compose a draft of the language to be sent to membership in lieu of renewal notices for review by the Officers.  The idea is to send these notices to each quarter renewal candidates to advise them of this additional benefit in case they don’t actively participate on the Message Board.  The Mainsheet has its own built-in delay factor.
2.   Membership – Secretary Stu Jackson
a.   560 members, of which 28 are C355 skippers, 532 C34 skippers.  This is down from the 640 C34 skippers in 2011, steady reduction since a high of 730 in 2004 and the drop to the mid-600’s three or four years ago.
3.   Website:  Tech Notes Online & wikis, spam issues
a.   Stu reported that Roger Blake and Fred Koehlmann have done great work on updating the Mainsheet Tech Notes from the original material with John Nixon’s help.  Those are ready to post on the Tech Notes Online.  Stu will encourage Dave Sanner to post that material.
b.   Ron Hill requested that spell check be replaced on the Message Board.
c.   A list of Forum/Message Board “Administrators” should be developed.  Fleet Captains or their designated alternates should be administrators of the Message Board Fleet sections.
d.   Redesign work is needed on the Main Home page of the website.  A list should be developed to note the work required.
4.   Facebook – promotion for website
a.   Lance reported that the Facebook page statistics indicate:  109 likes, 94 US, 9 Canada, 2 Australian, one each from the Netherlands, Turkey and Hong Kong, with 22,000 hits per month, lots of women (50%).  He noted that it creates a dialog, directs folks to the website for technical information.  Facebook is easy to add pictures and sound files, is good publicity for the C34 IA.  No decrease seen to participation on the message board.  Ken Juul noted that the cruising wiki is also available.
5.   National Regatta
a.   None planned for this year.
6.   Fleets
a.   New Fleet 14 being formed in southeast Florida by Robert Schuldenfrei, Acting Fleet Captain (Esprit du Vent, #422).  Vice Commodore Paul Erb will follow with the Fleet Formation package and any other assistance required.
7.   CD-ROM status & updates – Stu – using updates from Bob Kuba
a.   Discussion regarding the appeal of the CD-ROM now that technology has enabled skippers to have online material available on their boats with wifi, cell phones and tablets.  Noted that the original intent of the CD-ROM was to enable skippers to have the technical material on the CD available when they were on their boats with their laptops, pre-wifi.  Agreed that continuity of the CD was valuable and would be a good thing to have on the boat.
b.   Ken Heyman will ask Bob Kuba if he wants to add anything or continue to update the CD which Stu then copies for new C34IA members.
8.   Tech Editor
a.   No report.
9.   C355
a.   Stu advised that he sends Diane & Ed Walters the C355 roster on a quarterly basis. He noted that he recently asked them for technical contributions for Mainsheet to begin to help them create their own identity; they were non-committal.  No further action required.  Fewer C355 renewals (28 active of 60 boats produced).
10.   Associate Memberships – little support in 2011, delete.
11.   Fleet Support
a.   Motion made, seconded and passed to extend Fleet Support for $10 per boat as of April 1st with those fleets that choose not to accept OK, requires a discussion and a motion for renewal every year.

* End*

Dear Catalina 34 International Association Members, Officers and Board Members;

February 2013

The 2013 International Officers listed were duly elected by a majority of Fleet Captains and the Past Commodores in accordance with the C34 IA Constitution.

2013 C34 International Association Officers


2011 & 2012 Commodore Michael Shaner
2009-2010 Vice-Commodore

2009 & 2010 Commodore Bob Kuba

Dave Davis (Fleet 1)
(650) 948﷓3461

Jon Arck (Fleet 1)
2004 &2005 Commodore
2004 Vice-Commodore

Bill Jenks – no longer participating
2003 & 4 Past Commodore
2005 – 2006 Treasurer
(360) 832﷓8760

2007 & 2008 Commodore Ken Juul

2013 Officers

2013 Commodore Lance Jones (Fleet 13)
2011 & 2012 Vice-Commodore
770-330-4010 (cell)

2013 Vice-Commodore Paul Erb

2013 Secretary Stu Jackson (Fleet 1)
1999-2012 Secretary
(510) 698-4250

2013 Treasurer Ken Heyman
2007-2012 Treasurer
(847) 422-3371 (cell)

2013 Chief Measurer Ray Irvine (Fleet 1)
2009 & 2012 Chief Measurer

2013 Mainsheet Editor Jack Hutteball  (Fleet 5)
2009 & 2012 Mainsheet Editor

2013 Webmaster Dave Sanner (Fleet 1)
2005 to 2012 Webmaster

2013 Technical Editor  John Nixon
2010 -2012 Technical Editor
# 728

2013  Associate Technical Editor Ron Hill (Fleet 12)
2004 – 2012  Associate Technical Editor
Past Technical Editor
(540) 891-5297