Rudder Damage....Any Help?

Previous topic - Next topic

gwp

1988 C34 Tall Rig
Sparing you guys all the agonizing details......my rudder ran aground in reverse and I heard a "pop". My nightmare was confirmed this am as I went swimming and found a crack around the circumference of the rudder probably at the point where the rudder shaft terminates......about 2 feet down from top. Though it is still pretty rigid, there is some flex at the crack when I pull and push back and forth on the bottom of the rudder. So....first question....is there a vertical rudder shaft log allowing the rudder to drop while boat is floating (diagram appears to show this)? Second......given the fact that it is taking on water as we "speak", what are the chances of removing all water? Third......Assuming the water can be removed, a repair would include grinding around crack and epoxy/fairing.....I have some experience here. Advice appreciated.

Stephen Butler

Need some more data about your rudder.  Is it the original or a new elliptical version.  The old had a mild steel interior frame while the new has a ss frame.  If the older version, the frame may already be corroded and may need replacement.  Having said this, yes, you can get the water out (over time with drilling drain holes) and yes, based on what seen in boat yards, the rudder can be re-glassed/faired/etc. back to it original state...but again, check to see if the draining water has rust in it.  Also, check out Ron Hill's rudder modification in the projects.  Best of luck and hope this helps.
Steve & Nancy
Wildflecken II
1990, #1023

Terry Forshier