Radar

Previous topic - Next topic

Rodney

Ah jeeeze..I was at West Marine today (on a totally innocent, inexpensive errand, honest officer). The next thing I knew I stumbled into a deal on a RayMarine RL70CRC radar/chart display head that I simply could not refuse. In the heat of the moment, I picked up a 2KW 18" radome for it also. In retrospect however, I wonder if I should swap it for the 4KW 24" radome or whether I'll be set with the 2KW.

I worked as a marine electronic tech for years so I should be the one answering this question, but when I was doing it, I worked on "work" boats (fish boast and tugs) and have little experience with sail boats. When this question came up with work boats, I always answered "buy the most you can afford". But such things as power consumption, weight aloft and dome size were almost non-existent as issues.

Any guidance out there? The 4KW is another grand that could be perhaps better spent on..well..what I supposed to buy at West Marine in the first place...

-Tranquility  '87 Hull # 290
San Diego

rdavison

Here are my thoughts....

Practical sailor did an LCD radar review in the Nov 1 issue.  Some comments from there and some from my personal experience.

The answer to your question, as you already know, is - it depends.  The 18", 2kw dome is rated good by PS.  The 24", 4 kw dome is rated excellent.  Both were at the top of the list as were the RL70 and SL70 display units so you can't go too far wrong.

Considerations:

How far do you need to see?  The extra power and antenna gain are only useful if you can mount the radar high enough.  Range is 1.14X square root of antenna hight for sea level targets.  From there is depends on how high the target is.  I guess that for sailing offshore from San Diego, you might want to see tall hills of Islands and shore so it may matter to you.  Extra power also helps see targets with lower reflectivity cooeficients.