Broken storage slider handle

Previous topic - Next topic

Analgesic

I have a challenging problem I suspect others may have faced and solved.  I broke off the handle of the black plastic sliding door for the port side storage behind the settee.  I am a veteran of this problem as I broke one of the starboard handles a couple of years ago.  Last time I popped out the plastic piece, cut a new square leading edge, drilled a couple of new holes and replaced the handle and popped the sheet right back in.  This time I cannot get out the broken plastic door.  I can only assue that either the wooden tracks have come closer together due to wood swelling or something bigger like flexing of the hull now that the boat is on the hard.  It is clear that if I try to bend the sheet it will break before it comes out.  If I do break it, a new one of the same size won't fit in.  Does anybody have any ideas on how I can solve this?    Thanks in advance for any help.
Brian McPhillips
Brian McPhillips  1988 #584  M25XP

BillG

I have the same problem with 2 handles that need to be repaired this winter.  I intend to take a jack and place it in the middle of the span and jack them apart by about 1/4 of inch which should be enough to get them out.
Bill
Rock Hall, MD

Stu Jackson

Bill's right, a Mainsheet article covered it in depth.  Ya gotta lift 'em up, matey!
Stu Jackson, C34 IA Secretary, #224 1986, "Aquavite"  Cowichan Bay, BC  Maple Bay Marina  SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)

"There is no problem so great that it can't be solved."

sselinger

The other posts are correct, you have to lift them up and maybe bend them a slight amount to clear the slots. Consider eliminating the handles and just making a large "finger" hole. This eliminates the problem nicely.

Steve
C34 Aquila (1990)
Steve Selinger
Aquila #1047

BillG