Join the C34 Association Today!
[C34 Home] [C34Tech Notes] [C34 Tech Wiki] [Join!]
Please login or register.
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: GSI Stove Stopped Working  (Read 239 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

senorquill

  • Forum - Petty Officer 3rd Class
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
    • https://www.instagram.com/senorquill/
GSI Stove Stopped Working
« on: February 16, 2023, 08:23:54 AM »

Gents,

I'm planning on heading out into the Gulf tomorrow and low and behold I go to make coffee this morning and the stove just doesn't work. I've never had a problem with it so I have no clue how to trouble shoot or fix at the last minute. What I've done:

1. Check propane level- 110PSI and the tank is heavy.
2. Checked the saftey switch in the galley for power, it has power, I hit the reset button.
3. Check attachment at tank, looks great.
4. Disconnected tank and reinstalled.
5. Took top of stove off and looks fine.

Is thier a simple issue that usally causes this? Just some bone head thing I don't know about?

V/R,

MQ

Catalina 34 1987
Logged
MQ

Jim Hardesty

  • Forum - Master Chief Petty Officer
  • *******
  • Karma: 13
  • Posts: 1574
    • View Profile
Re: GSI Stove Stopped Working
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2023, 09:35:38 AM »

Does it start with a match when the knob is pushed in to the ignition position?  If so it's the ignition sparker or the thermocouple.
I had a regulator go bad.  Would work, for a while, if shut off tank, disconnect at tank, then tap the regulator and reconnect.  Worked a couple of times.  Google burping propane tank.
Hope this helps,
Jim 
Logged
Jim Hardesty
2001 MKII hull #1570 M35BC  "Shamrock"
sailing Lake Erie
from Commodore Perry Yacht Club
Erie, PA

senorquill

  • Forum - Petty Officer 3rd Class
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
    • https://www.instagram.com/senorquill/
Re: GSI Stove Stopped Working
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2023, 09:52:10 AM »

Does it start with a match when the knob is pushed in to the ignition position?  If so it's the ignition sparker or the thermocouple.
I had a regulator go bad.  Would work, for a while, if shut off tank, disconnect at tank, then tap the regulator and reconnect.  Worked a couple of times.  Google burping propane tank.
Hope this helps,
Jim

Jim,

I've never used the ingition, i've always just used a lighter, so i've never pushed the knob in. I'll try the reguator tapping.

Thanks,

MQ
Logged
MQ

senorquill

  • Forum - Petty Officer 3rd Class
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
    • https://www.instagram.com/senorquill/
Re: GSI Stove Stopped Working
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2023, 09:54:04 AM »

Took me a while to find the manual online, so i'll post it here.

MQ
Logged
MQ

mark_53

  • Forum - Chief Petty Officer
  • ******
  • Karma: 7
  • Posts: 523
    • View Profile
Re: GSI Stove Stopped Working
« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2023, 10:45:41 AM »

There should be a breaker on the electrical panel that operates the solenoid.  Check if it's on.  As I recall you are suppose to light the aft burner first.
Logged

Ron Hill

  • Forum - Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy
  • ********
  • Karma: 69
  • Posts: 8254
    • View Profile
Re: GSI Stove Stopped Working
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2023, 02:54:13 PM »

Mike Quebec : You probably might? need a couple of new parts.  I had a similar problem and replaced both the mushroom shaped pressure regulator and the wired valve that opens when you click ON the switch on the Main electrical panel (nav station).  I first replace the switch controlled valve and then found out the problem was the pressure regulator.  Like I did first, replace that electrically controlled switch as it's more likely to fail that that mushroom!! 

A few thoughts
« Last Edit: February 17, 2023, 01:45:50 PM by Ron Hill »
Logged
Ron, Apache #788

Ron Hill

  • Forum - Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy
  • ********
  • Karma: 69
  • Posts: 8254
    • View Profile
Re: GSI Stove Stopped Working
« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2023, 01:23:57 PM »

MQ : As an aside comment - you have a CNG stove and you are using propane.  If you or the PO didn't change the orifice to the burners from CNG to propane - you might want to do that!! Because that orifice is unique to which gas is being used.                 

But your problem still sounds like you aren't getting any gas at the burner - either the switch or the regulator is bad or out of gas!!

A thought
« Last Edit: February 19, 2023, 02:48:09 PM by Ron Hill »
Logged
Ron, Apache #788

senorquill

  • Forum - Petty Officer 3rd Class
  • ***
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
    • https://www.instagram.com/senorquill/
Re: GSI Stove Stopped Working
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2023, 04:27:53 PM »

Thanks for all the advice. It is the switch at the tank. I disconnected the switch and piped right into the tank. Iíll just turn the gas off and on until I can fix it.

MQ
Logged
MQ
Pages: [1]   Go Up