Weal Sea's New Mahogany Cockpit Floor Inserts!!

Previous topic - Next topic

SailDan

We (Ben Holland and I) made the mahogany cockpit floor inserts for Weal Sea last week using as a pattern the inserts from Ben Holland & Chris Hanika's C-34 "ChriSea" (#832). Weal Sea is on the hard at Hammond Marina (Hammond, Indiana) so I drove up and test fitted the inserts this last weekend and took some photos.  They look great (see pictures below).  I promised I'd publish the "Do It Yourself Instructions".... therefore, Ben & I working on the drawings / plans and will be putting them on the projects page as soon as they are complete.. it will take a while.. please be patient.
Dan Harrington
Weal Sea #1289
---
Note- If the photo of the inserts below this message does not show up on your monitor, go to http://localline.com/~saildan and click on "MontageCockpitInserts-SMALL"...
(This is my first attempt to use Bob Kuba's method of inserting photos.)
---

Jim Price

Those look too good to walk on!!  Maybe you should take them up each time before you go out ....

Your plans will be interesting.  But if I could ask one question, do the "joists" beneath the strips have channels cut in them to aid in the cockpit draining or are you depending on the raised / dimpled surface of the cockpit floor to provide adequate drainage?
Jim Price
"LADY DI", 1119
Lake Lanier, GA

SailDan

Jim,