Shower sump pump

Previous topic - Next topic

Baysider

I'm getting to a number of projects and will be opening a few topics, but here's the first.  I'm replacing a very heavy shower sump pump that hasn't worked since I bought my 34. It's likely original to the boat and looks nothing like the Jabsco PARs that are used now. It's screwed on to a chunk of wood which is not attached/glued to anything.  It's in the small compartment with the thru hulls behind the head sink.  My guess is that the wood block was once glued to the hull.  I have a Jabsco PAR, with strainer, and would like to know how the pump is attached in other 34s.  If it's screwed to a board what kind of glue would be used to attach to the hull?  Thanks so much.
1990 Standard Rig
Wing Keel
Hull 1011
Safe Harbor Willsboro Marina
Lake Champlain, NY

KWKloeber

Epoxy resin/hardener with microfibers thickener.
Twenty years from now you'll be more disappointed by the things you didn't do, than by the ones you did.
So throw off the bowlines.  Sail away from the safe harbor.  Catch the tradewinds in your sails.
Explore.  Dream.  Discover.   -Mark Twain

Ron Hill

Bay : The original OEM shower sump pump was a diaphragm pump not a rotary pump.

You need to epoxy your piece of wood to the hull under the toilet paper compartment. Just make sure that you can get at the filter/strainer on your PAR pump because it will fill with junk that needs to be removed periodically.

a few thoughts
Ron, Apache #788

Noah

This is the pump I have. It is a bit pricey, but works great and is a lot quieter. It also can handle "debris" very well. I haven't ever had it clog.
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

Baysider

Thanks everyone for your input.