New Owner of C34 #886

Previous topic - Next topic

Ben H.

Hello Everyone.

I recently purchased a Catalina 34 here in CT that had been sitting out of the water for about 5 years. I'm a novice when it comes to sailing, but am quick on the uptake. Physically this boat seems to be well cared for and in sound condition. I was told she ran a sandbar before coming out of the water and had her rudder break away. The prop and shaft were also removed as a precaution. The only other "damage" I can see is a chip by the rudder tube and the "Catalina" smile.  Over winter I'm looking at prepping her as much as I can to get her back in the water this spring. I'd love to hear from everyone what sort of things I should look for, possible projects for now/later, and general recommendations.

I'm going to make a second post regarding the engine, M-25XP, that I'm having trouble starting. (http://c34.org/bbs/index.php/topic,8731.0.html).

Again, I look forward to tapping everyone knowledge.

Thanks, Ben
Ben H.
"Happy Camper"
1989 C34 Mk I #886
Std. Rig, Wing Keel, M25XP Engine
Boat - Westport, Connecticut

Stu Jackson

Welcome, Ben and congratulations on your new boat.

We're here to help, fire away.
Stu Jackson, C34 IA Secretary, #224 1986, "Aquavite"  Cowichan Bay, BC  Maple Bay Marina  SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)

"There is no problem so great that it can't be solved."

Ben H.

Here is the link to the engine woes post.   http://c34.org/bbs/index.php/topic,8731.0.html

So far myself and co-owner Chris have
- Given the boat a quick scrubbing to get dirt/green mold off
- Covered boat with frame and HUGE tarp that still leaves it accessible via crawling.
- Attempted to start the motor http://c34.org/bbs/index.php/topic,8731.0.html
- Spot cleaned the inside.

Over the winter I'd like to:
- Go through electrical system to learn/label/neaten up everything
- Go through plumbing system to learn/label/repair/ everything. Thinking of replacing all 26+ year old hoses.