More Kudos to the Forum

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin Henderson

:clap :clap :clap
I thought about starting another topic on my personal triumphs and tribulations regarding sailboat maintenance... specifically engine maintenance. But decided instead to profess once again the value of the information posted within this forum and the association. 
If you have followed my posts in the past you will quickly learn that I am still a newbie in many respects, and I have never considered myself to be a "sloshing around in oil" kind of a mechanic.  That being said however, I do enjoy the general "mucking" around in boats.  And wanting to be forever frugal, self maintaining things like the engine is extremely beneficial and only makes sense.  Not to mention the confidence it builds in oneself in knowing every aspect of the boat.
  My recent quest this weekend was to simply change out my Racor fuel filter.  (I know... some of you 'old salts' are laughing right now).  But you have to understand that my fear of doing something to my trusty engine that could cause it to sputter, gasp, and stop terrifies me.  And so to the forum and the wealth of knowledge contained therein, I went.  I read several posts on the topic of bleeding air and changing fuel filters.  Even most recently Stu's post of the Maintenance 101's.  Having steeled myself for the impending bath in diesel fuel and lining my bilge with absorbent cloth, I grabbed my replacement Racor filter and proceeded to take the steps of changing out my filter.
1. Cut off main fuel line... check
2.  Place coffee can beneath old filter and spin off... check
3.  Lube new gaskets, install new filter, clean bottom bowl and fill with injector cleaner, install... check.
4.  Open main fuel line... check
4.  Open bleed valve on engine and turn ignition key to run fuel pump.