pokey engine/transmission?

Previous topic - Next topic

anaisdog

i have hull 99, 1986 and last night was the first time i took her out, from the dock, this year. in forward, she was really slow and the engine was pegged at 3200 rpm, for going really slowly.  i put her in reverse, in case there were weeds, didn't see anything coming off, went back into forward and for probably 3-5 minutes, the engine remained pegged then it slowly backed off the rpm, with the same amount of throttle.  turned off the boat, sailed for a few hours, turned her back on, and it was sluggish again with high rpm, going forward.  if the weather holds, I'm going to dive the prop tonight but what else could this be?

thanks

becki kain
Hull #99, c34, 1986, Detroit Yacht Club

Noah

Caveat: I am NOT a mechanic but...Did you notice whether the shaft was spinning faster when you accelerated? If your prop is clean...tie boat to the dock and run engine in gear and look at the shaft to see if it is spinning faster as you give it more throttle under load, or perhaps the transmission is slipping...
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

anaisdog

um, forgive me for being confused but how would i?  she's in the water?  like dive behind while someone else is driving?

thanks!

Noah

NO!
1. Tie the boat to the dock with to a good secure cleat with strong spring lines fore and aft.
2. Go below and remove aft bunk cushions and open compartment bunk board so you can see transmission and coupling and stuffing box
3. Run engine in gear(forward and reverse) at different RPMs and see if shaft turns at different speeds or slips.
Standard Rig

anaisdog

DUH!  completely forgot we can see the shaft from the aft cabin. thanks!

Craig Illman

and, if you can't count the revolutions, optical tachs are pretty inexpensive.  :razz:

mark_53

Make sure your not wearing a necklace when counting revolutions.  Also, keep long hair away! :shock:

anaisdog

KWKloeber

becki