Flexible Solar Panels

Previous topic - Next topic

Paulus

You might take a look at this web site.  Some interesting reading.

http://www.custommarineproducts.com/marine-solar-panels.html
Like Noah, I am no expert on solar panels. From my reading SunPower is the or one of the leading companies in manufacturing solar cells.  They have various cells, depending on efficiency.  According to Solbian's web site, they are using a SunPower cells that rates at 23% efficiency.  My understanding is that SunPower will soon be out with a 25% efficient solar cell.  I am just putting this out there for more discussion.

Paul
Cool Change 1989 #944

mainesail

Quote from: Paulus on December 19, 2016, 12:29:35 PM
You might take a look at this web site.  Some interesting reading.

http://www.custommarineproducts.com/marine-solar-panels.html
Like Noah, I am no expert on solar panels. From my reading SunPower is the or one of the leading companies in manufacturing solar cells.  They have various cells, depending on efficiency.  According to Solbian's web site, they are using a SunPower cells that rates at 23% efficiency.  My understanding is that SunPower will soon be out with a 25% efficient solar cell.  I am just putting this out there for more discussion.

Paul

The key to using SunPower® cells is in using "A" graded cells (note SunPower does not use the term "A" grade but I would need to look up my document which I don't have time to do right now) which cost insanely more than "D" grade cells (lower grade SunPower cells). Low grade cells are what most of the Chinese manufacturers are using, often SunPower Bin-D, but they can even be lower..  If one of them claims "A" grade SunPower® ask for clarification of this from the manufacturer. While they may be able to provide this it does not mean the panels you got are made with "A" graded/(best quality) SunPower®.