slipway cradle details for winged keel

Previous topic - Next topic

threes company

Hi everyone this is my first time online. I am about to take our C34 winged keel out of the water for the first time since sailing her home. Our club has a slipway and a cradle that will fit which i checked prior to purchasing our boat in 2013. I need to gather info as to what support the boat requires whilst it is on the cradle on the slipway and out of the water. I am led to understand that she can rest hard down on the keel. Can this be confirmed and if so does she require a forward tension strap under the bow or stern areas. As i sailed her down the east coast from sydney to her new home near melbourne. austaralia.  We only used a suspension crane while it was in sydney and  as we weren't resident there it was all done without me being there or seeing the cradles. I am sorry if this has already been written about but i have had no luck on the site trying to research previous information. Regards Stefan

Clay Greene

Not sure what you mean by a "slipway," but the keel is intended to take 80-90 percent of the weight of the boat while it is on the hard.  The remaining weight would be distributed on the pads, of which most cradles have either four or six.  There are posts elsewhere on the site as to how the boat should sit on the keel to make sure that the weight is properly distributed.  Others will most likely jump in with that information.  Hope that helps. 
1989, Hull #873, "Serendipity," M25XP, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Stu Jackson

Quote from: threes company on July 03, 2014, 01:18:13 AM
I am sorry if this has already been written about but i have had no luck on the site trying to research previous information. Regards Stefan

Stefan, welcome.  And congratulations on your new boat.

Here's how:  Use the search engine, upper right.  Type in cradle.  Read the results,  Type in blocking, read the results.  Lots of material already here.