Installing heating system

Previous topic - Next topic

Paulus

I would like to install either Espar or Webasto heating in my C34.  I would appreciate hearing from those of you that have so that I do not have to re invent the wheel.  Appreciate your help.  Please email me: paulus@wmis.net
Cool Change 1989 #944

Michael Shaner

Paulus,

I've been contemplating diesel heaters for a couple years now myself. Seems to me the unit could be installed in the port lazarette. Drop a fuel line straight into the diesel tank below, tap into the existing duct lines (aft cabin, salon and V) and enjoy New Year's Eve on the hook!
Michael & Alison Shaner

Jack Hutteball

I have installed an Espar Hydronic system on our boat, a mark ll.  Unit is in the aft port lazerette with waterlines feeding heat exchangers in the forward, main, aft, and head cabins.  works great. Diesel comes from one of the outlets on my Racor so it is already filtered.  The Espar pump pulls it up fine with no additional lift pump needed.  Installation was simple running the water lines and installing the heat exchangers.  I also ran lines over to the area of the water heater so I can hook that into the system, but have not made that connection yet.  I have pictures of my installation if you are interested.  Buy the unit from a truck supply outfit and it will save a lot.  Manual that comes with the unit is very well done and easy to follow.

Jack
Jack and Ruth Hutteball
Mariah lll, #1555, 2001
Anacortes, Washington

Stu Jackson

I recall that waterdog put one on his boat, using the air version.  His "trick" was running the ductwork through the head compartment underneath the mirrored door instead of trying to hide it.  A very good solution.  The port locker is THE place to put the unit, whether hot air or hydronic.
Stu Jackson, C34 IA Secretary, #224 1986, "Aquavite"  Cowichan Bay, BC  Maple Bay Marina  SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)

"There is no problem so great that it can't be solved."

Paulus