Flushing the water system

Previous topic - Next topic

Jordan Rash

Hello everyone! So I officially have had my C34 for 5 days now and it honestly is a blast.  I need to ask what y'all probably see as a simple question, but I don't know how to tackle it.  The water lines haven't been ran since the last owner (probably a year or so) and I would really like to flush them before I start showering and stuff....my question is, where does the grey water drain.  Does it go into the same tank as the toilet? If that is the case, then I probably won't be able to do it until I can get to a pump out station?  Silly question I know, but I am still very new with all of this.  Also, when I hook the water line up, I remember reading on here somewhere that there is a regulating value to keep it from over filling....is that correct?  My goal is to be able to have my first shower in my boat by the end of the weekend...please help me!!! Happy holidays to all!
Jordan Rash
CaliGal #1126
1991 C34

chuck53

Unless the previous owner made some serious modifications, all your gray water drains overboard.

With a new boat, you need to take some time to get to know your boat inside and out.  Get a good flashlight and open up all your compartments and follow all the hoses you see to find out where they start and where they end and their purpose.  When you do that you will also find out where all your thru hulls are located which is very important.

If your boat's water system hasn't been used in a while, you probably need to do a bleach flush.  Put a small amount of bleach in both water tanks and run the water to make sure the bleach gets into all the hoses.  Let it sit for a day and then flush.  When I do this, after a good flushing, I use white vinegar for a final flush.  It helps clean out the residue bleach taste and smell.  It will leave you with a "tossed salad" taste but it sure beats a bleach taste.