Hood Roller furling

Previous topic - Next topic

chuck53

Seems to me I've read some discouraging remarks on this website about Hood roller furling that Catalina puts on their boats.
I even asked a boat broker (who is a seasoned sailor) to list, in order, his preference in roller furling brands.  He listed 3-4 brands and didn't even mention Hood.
So what's the scoop on Hood units?  Are they really that bad?

What's the good, bad and ugly on Hood?
I ask because I'm in the market for a C-34.  I might add that the only other sailboat I had (C-30) didn't have roller furling so that's a feature I've never used before so I'm a newbie on this subject.

Stu Jackson

Chuck,

The downside to the Hood furlers were their older double line system, where one continuous loop was used that went around the furler drum.  This is compared to the newer units now used by all manufacturers where a single line goes into a drum and builds up when the sail is unfurled.

The drawbacks to the old Hood system were the mechanics of the drum itself which were improved by Hood much later on with a retrofit kit shortly before they stopped making them, and the difficulty of the making the splice in the rope which needed to be on the boat.

That's the short version. 

If you want more information, I suggest doing a search, using the quotation marks, on "Hood Furler" or "hood furl".  One "hit" is this one, please note the date of the posts:  http://c34.org/bbs/index.php/topic,496.0.html
Stu Jackson, C34 IA Secretary, #224 1986, "Aquavite"  Cowichan Bay, BC  Maple Bay Marina  SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)

"There is no problem so great that it can't be solved."

chuck53

Stu,
Thanks for the quick replay.  Very helpful.
I'm assuming all the C-34's I'm looking at ('87-'91) all have the older version, that if they haven't already been upgraded, need to be or replaced altogether.

Stu Jackson