Wind speed /direction

Previous topic - Next topic

kevMar

I have just bought a 1988 34 catalina... i would like to install a wind speed/direction instrument on the boat and an wheel pilot .. Any suggestions on what to look for and how hard is it to install..  thanks

Lance Jones

Congrats on the purchase!!!! I've found the C-34 to be an awesome boat -- I've been sailing since 1967!!!
I have an 88 as well and my SN is 622.

As to instruments etc.... It depends on what type sailing you plan to do. Will you be racing or cruising.?
Lance Jones
1988  C-34 Kitty's Cat
S/N 622

Ken Juul

Welcome.
We bought our boat in New Bern in 2000.  Moved it to the Chesapeake.  Nice area, Oriental and Beaufort are a couple of our favorite towns.

You will get a bunch of answers to your questions here. 

Being a newbie I will also point out that both questions have been asked before.  You can use the search function in the blue menu bar to find previous discussions to add to your knowledge.  Search terms of Autopilot and windex should bring up a bunch of threads.

Also not sure how much specific information is available, but don't forget to look at the Tech Wiki.  Electronics and cockpit are a couple areas that might have some information.   

The wiki is fairly new, when you do decide on how you are going to equip your new toy.  Please consider documenting your projects in the wiki.  It is fairly simple, instructions are about half way down the main wiki page.  Be happy to help if you have questions.

Again welcome, its a great boat.  If you haven't done so, I invite you to join the C34 International Association (C34IA).  Information and a link are on the home page www.c34.org
Ken & Vicki Juul
Luna Loca #1090
Chesapeake Bay
Past Commodore C34IA

Stu Jackson

Welcome.