pointing

Previous topic - Next topic

Ron S

I am having trouble pointing as high as several other boats on the lake. (Hunter 340, C-230, etc.)  Looking at my mast, it appears that it is either straight up, or possible a touch forward. It is definately forward of the others.  If I rake the mast back a bit will it help? C-34 1584

Tom P, IMPULSE #233, '86

Ron,

Mast rake, along with many other things, determines how well a boat points...

Although I'm new to the C34, I have plenty of keel boat experience, and if your mast is leaning forward, that's not good for going to windward...

But how much rake does the C34 like???  I have no idea; hopefully someone else here can answer that for us...

If know one here knows for sure, I'd check to see where your rake is cuurently; and if it's forward, move it to straight up and see how it sails...If it's good, then I'd start moving the top of the mast aft an inch or two at the time and see how that does...Keep in mind that these changes may be very hard to "feel" while sailing without a "pace boat"...It always helps to put the boat up against other boats (always the same group) while checking for improvements.  Also keep in mind that it doesn't follow the logic of "if a little rake does a little good, then a lot of rage does a lot of good"...you might point well with a lot of rake, but you will greatly choke boat speed---you have to find the happy medium...

If I were you, I'd also start checking a lot of other things as well...A poorly shaped headsail or the wrong luff tension can also cause you to point badly...Having the wrong tension on the forstay will cause you to point poorly...A poorly trimmed/shaped mainsail can cause you to point poorly...A poor bottom job can cause you to point poorly...Sailing in bad air (the other boats' lee) will cause you to point poorly---are you sailing in the same wind the other boats are???