Universal M-25, How many hours can I expect to get out of it?

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike and Joanne Stimmler

We are looking at an "89 C-34 with 3479 hours on the Universal M-25 engine. What is the normal life expectancy on these engines?
Mike and Joanne Stimmler
Former owner of Calerpitter
'89 Tall Rig Fin keel #940
San Diego/Mission Bay
mjstimmler@cox.net

willie

I am not a expert with regard to the M-25 engine. But I have a some thoughts to consider.

The diesel engine should last 50,000 hours.

How ever so many things can happen to the engine to cause serious damage that will greatly shorten the life of the engine.

Over heating,
Not changing oil regularly.
Running the engine with out oil,
Poor break-in
Running improper governor (fuel timing)  settings

And many others. Have a qualified "Diesel" mechanic check the compresion, maybe testing an oil sample. Testing an oil sample will give a tremendous amount of information as to the condition of the engine.

Hope that helps.

Ron Hill

mst: The consensus opinion of the diesel people that I've talked to in the past 20 years is the number of 10,000 hours. 
That's to rebuild, so whether MANY items need to be replaced or only a few depends on how well you take care of your engine. 
As Willie pointed out many factors will determine engine life - overheating, oil changes, full power use, oil loss and catastrophic failure are the main determining factors. 
Guess that's why I use Mobile 1 (synthetic oil) -- if I use it in my autos, why not the boat?  Synthetic oil get dirty, but it doesn't wear out!    :think
Ron, Apache #788

Jeff Kaplan

mst: i'm glad you asked that question, as #219, 1986, i bought 2 years ago has the m25 and less than 1300 hours now.  runs like a champ. ron ,i have been using delo30w. is the mobil1 you use a multi weight or straight weight? i hadn't thought of using a syn. oil. evidently you've had good luck....jeff
#219, 1986 tall rig/shallow draft. "sedona sunset" atlantic-salem,ma

willie