Manual crank for engine?

Previous topic - Next topic

tstrand

I have a 1988, hull number 572, with a Universal M-25XP. The forward end of the crank shaft is splined and very accessible (with the access panels removed), so it seems like it would be easy to slip a hand crank on it in an engine starting emergency. Has anyone tried it? Any thoughts on where to buy a crank? And how would the crank release after the engine fires up? Seems like a helical spline would be better than straight.

Thanks,
Tim
Tim Strand
Calico #572
Santa Barbara, CA

Jack Hutteball

Hi Tim,
I have no experience with your M-25XP, but I had a 6 HP single cylinder diesel on my previous 27' boat.  I could hand crank it but it was a lot of work.  I would doubt that you could hand crank a 4 cylinder engine.  Just my opinion.

Jack
Jack and Ruth Hutteball
Mariah lll, #1555, 2001
Anacortes, Washington

Ron Hill

Tim : Guess that you're not old enough to have tried hand cranking a Model "A" and had to be very careful of the .kickback.  
If you decide to make a hand crank, make damn sure it has a ratcheting mechanism.
I wouldn't recommend hand cranking, because with an M25XP you have a decompression lever.  If you engage that lever, even with a very low battery the starter will spin the cylinders with no compression.  You will need to preheat with the glow plugs.  Then while the engine is turning, turn the decompression off and the engine (now with compression) should kick in.  A thought.   :wink:
Ron, Apache #788

Stu Jackson

Tim

It would appear that it would be more prudent, and possibly safer, to ensure that your electrical system is up to snuff and you can start your engine properly, rather than depending on the decompression lever (an old C30 "trick") or the shaft.

There's been lots written here about electrical systems, and separate starting batteries.