NAPA fuel pump # 610-1051

Previous topic - Next topic

Monty

Question for Ron( I tried to email you but it was returned). What is the purpose for leaving the bleed screw partially open and does the temperature of the new pump get hot. I read in your post that it creates a continuous bleed system, but what is the purpose. Will it not operate properly if left in the closed position?

Ray & Sandy Erps

I have some experience with larger diesel engines which have a fuel return system built in.  I assumed these baby diesels did the same thing and that the fuel bleed valve was just a short cut to let air out of the fuel injector pump.  Now my curiosity is peeked, so I'll have to take a look to see exactly how the system works.  I suppose by leaving the bleeder valve open, there will just be a little extra fuel returning to the tank over the amount that is already returning to the tank and the electric pump will just pump a little faster.  The downside is, that if you don't close the valve when changing the fuel filter, you may be introducing more air into the injector pump as a result.
Ray & Sandy Erps,
'83, 41 Fraser "Nikko"
La Conner WA

Ray & Sandy Erps