Creaking noise from rudder

Previous topic - Next topic

pbyrne

With respect to epoxy, I have no experience, and would appreciate a bit of guidance.  The 2 brands below seem to be the most commonly mentioned, but which ones make sense for filling the cockpit floor/replacing the plug?  Fast/Med/Slow...? No idea! 😀

https://www.marineoutfitters.ca/index.cfm?category=10060|10075|10696
https://www.marineoutfitters.ca/index.cfm?category=10060|10075|10699
2000 Catalina 34 MK II #1534

Ron Hill

pby : Get the SLOW "kicking (hardening)" epoxy.  I say SLOW so it flows into all voids and then hardens!!

pby - This a MAJOR Fix / repair - I'd have a experienced yard do the job!!

A thought
Ron, Apache #788

Jim Hardesty

Warren's plan looks like a great outline on how to fix.  West System epoxy is good stuff, but I don't think it's what you want for this.  I think something like this would be best.

https://www.amazon.com/TotalBoat-Polyester-Structural-Repair-Putty/dp/B07C9D2GFJ/ref=asc_df_B07C9D2GFJ?tag=bingshoppinga-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=80676718050797&hvnetw=o&hvqmt=e&hvbmt=be&hvdev=c&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=&hvtargid=pla-4584276305052786&th=1&psc=1

A couple of thoughts. Expand the search till you get into dry, solid core.  Need to get the surface dry and as clean as possible.  Be careful if you use epoxy, a thick coating will get very hot, possibly catch fire.  Unless you want to sand between layers use a non-blushing epoxy Mas is one brand.
Although I've done a few repairs, I'm by no means an expert. 
Are you planning on this as a winter layup project?  That would be my choice.
Jim
Jim Hardesty
2001 MKII hull #1570 M35BC  "Shamrock"
sailing Lake Erie
from Commodore Perry Yacht Club
Erie, PA

Breakin Away

I'm going to second someone else's suggestion to have this done professionally. It's not the kind of thing a first-timer should do.