I’ve Crimped My Last

Previous topic - Next topic

KeelsonGraham

I recently discovered Wago in-line connectors. They're absolutely amazing. Just flick the lever and you wire is held vise-like.

No more weak or failed crimps for me. From now on my boat is a Wago boat!

2006 Catalina 34 Mk II. Hull No:1752. Engine: M35 BC.

Noah

I am not an electrician, but don't believe these should be used anywhere where you worry about corrosion.
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

senorquill

MQ

derekb

That's a clever design, looks like a cool idea. But the clear section is molded from polycarbonate... which is notoriously susceptible to chemical attack. So I wouldn't be using them anywhere they could be exposed to fuels, paints, cleaning fluids or chemical vapours.
Derek Buckmaster
Esprit, 1986 C34 Mark I #29. Fin keel, Universal M25.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia

Jim Hardesty

QuoteI recently discovered Wago in-line connectors. They're absolutely amazing. Just flick the lever and you wire is held vise-like.

I won't go that far, don't have problems with my crimped connectors. Other than sometimes being short a hand or two to hold wires, connector and crimper.  Do see a couple of things I like.  Looks like they are reusable, can be disconnected and reconnected. (brochure wasn't really clear on that).  The three-way connection looks more elegant then the three-way crimped connectors or line taps.  FWIW that is one place where I solder the 3 wires, sometimes solder and insulate short wires then crimp connect in place.
So, I'll keep them in mind for a few special uses.
Thanks for the info,
Jim
Jim Hardesty
2001 MKII hull #1570 M35BC  "Shamrock"
sailing Lake Erie
from Commodore Perry Yacht Club
Erie, PA

tmac

Maybe if you got some big heat shrink and slid it over the entire Wago assembly, you could make it more resistant to corrosion  :D
Tom McCanna
Bayfield, WI , Apostle Islands 1988 std. rig C34, #818 M-25xp, wing keel
Lake Superior - No Sharks, No Salt