Black floaters in antifreeze

Previous topic - Next topic

Porchhound

During the survey the surveyor dipped his finger in the antifreeze and came out with black globules floating in it. Is this the Death-cool sludge (Dex-Cool) or what else might it be?
If human intelligence is insufficient, why think something artificial modeled after it would be better?

mark_53

Porchhound

How would oil get into the coolant? I'm not sure where the crossover might have occurred.
If human intelligence is insufficient, why think something artificial modeled after it would be better?

Noah

Caveat: I am not a mechanic. But I hope it is not oil. That would probably NOT be a good thing and could be (head) gasket problems? I would say flush the system out until clear, then refill with standard green 50/50 coolant and see if it reappears.
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

mark_53

Quote from: Porchhound on October 16, 2022, 10:28:52 AM
How would oil get into the coolant? I'm not sure where the crossover might have occurred.

Someone put it in, cracked block, cracked head, head gasket...

Check the color of the oil.  If brown (not black) there is water in it.

Porchhound

The other cracked head or block symptoms weren't evident. Compression and overall engine performance, temp, exhaust were good, even at WOT of 3400 RPM and cold start. This C34 was mostly idle over the past three years...only 30 hours logged. I'm wondering if something might be growing in that coolant system.

Noah

Again: empty, fill and flush with water, empty, refill with glycol 50/50, and keep an eye on it — to see if "problem" returns.
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

Ron Hill

Porch : Do as Noah mentioned.  You might want to add another step of using some Prestone Radiator Flush.

If you want to test for oil - take a drop, examine it and see if it floats in a glass of water.

A few thoughts
Ron, Apache #788

waughoo