Can we bend a strut ???????

Previous topic - Next topic

andre

I'm learning my English, excuse my fault. After an accident with a haul out the alignment between the strut and stern tube is a little different and if I want realign my shaft correctly in the center of my cutlass bearing I need to raise my motor on the top of my motor mount bolt and the shaft will be near of the top of the stern tube. So my question is can we bend a little bit a strut to change the angle. I thing that the strut is made with bronze and it's a soft material. All of your help will be appreciate. Thank you.
L'Apache hull#1377  1997 Quebec Canada universal 35bc

Noah

Sorry to hear of your bad news. I am NOT an engineer, nor a naval architect, however, I would guess NO. If you try and bend it while installed you will crack its mounting into the hull. I do not know the details of your "haul-out accident". Was the strut bent in the accident?  If yes, in my opinion, if the boat was hit hard enough to bend the strut it needs to be removed and replaced. I recommend you get a Marine Surveyor to analyze your problem. Good luck.
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

Kyle Ewing

This diagram from the wiki shows how the strut is installed.  Have you checked for damage or movement inside the hull?  https://c34.org/wiki/index.php?title=Strut_Replacement_Drawing
Kyle Ewing
Donnybrook #1010
Belmont Harbor, Chicago
http://www.saildonnybrook.com/

andre

Yes I have checked inside and all seems ok, no crack on fiber and also no loose on bolts. I have checked also the exterior and no damage on fiberglass.

Admiral_Swellson

Hi Andre,

Is your boat in the water? You can't adjust this properly on the hard. The boat flexes and alignment will be off.

andre