Removing thru-hulls

Previous topic - Next topic

David Discenza

Hello. I plan on removing, inspecting, and reinstalling my thru-hulls. Before I undertake this, I want to understand how the thru-hulls are mounted to the hull. Are they threaded in place with 3M 5200 providing an adhesive water barrier? Do they just slip through the hull and held in place by the 5200 and a flange on the opposite side? My boatyard can't get to the job for a while because they're understaffed and they have a lot of customers.  I've never done this before and I want to avoid making a costly, stoooopid mistake because of my inexperience.

My boat is a 1993 34', hull#12441293

Thanks to all who reply.
CTYP12441293
"Irish Lady"

Noah

Why do you feel the need to remove them? You can lube them in place. Whatever the reason, if you are intent on removing and reinstalling, with old or new, do not use 5200. Use Sikaflex 291 or 3M 4200
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

David Discenza

Noah,

Thanks for your reply. When the boat was put in the water, my boat yard inspects to make certain that none of the thru-hulls are leaking. They spotted what they thought was a slow leak. As far as I know, the thru-hulls  have never been touched since they were originally installed. After 27 years, it seems like good preventive maintenance to me.
CTYP12441293
"Irish Lady"

Noah

Depends what leaking means?? Skin fitting or valve? Also, if they are the original Forespar Marelon they should be lubed once a year with Marelube, Lanacoat, or similar grease.
Standard Rig

Stu Jackson

David,

1.  The better reference source online for thru hulls is this one from Maine Sail:  https://marinehowto.com/category/plumbing/

2.  The Critical Upgrades has comments about Marelon thru hull valves.  Noah's right, it could just be the valve, its handle, or a cranky yard monkey.  Have YOU personally checked their claim of leaking?