Shaft & Stuffing box - how bad is this?

Previous topic - Next topic

JCHoctor

I am getting into the boat and trying to address some issues that I know I should have paid more attention to in the past couple of years but the simply I can not change what I should have done only accept responsibility for it and move forward - right? 

I am looking at the shaft and stuffing box (repacking the box was on my list) but as I see the shaft I am concerned about this white build-up on the shaft.  I have not had a chance to actually handle it but will be doing that this weekend.  My question to the community is how bad is do you think?  I am not experienced with the drive train and the boat is in the water so if I need to replace it I would need to pull her

I have read through some of the threads but do not see any that relate to what I am seeing (Sorry if I missed something) so I am hoping for a little support from the community and some honest thoughts about how bad this appears. 
Hull #738
1988 Mk1 Tall Mast Wing Keel, M25XP

Noah

It is probably just salt crystals from stuffing box self lubricating—assuming you have a saltwater boat. Clean it up with some CRL and a Scotchbrite pad and see how the shaft looks. There is a possibility that the shaft has been scored, but no way to tell until you clean it up.
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

Stu Jackson