spar painting

Previous topic - Next topic

mdidomenico

i've finished painting my boom, spreaders, and some other parts.  the mast is up next after the next batch of paint is delivered.  i thought i would write up what i did as a point of reference for others that might want to tackle the same project.

i pulled the mast, boom, and everything apart, all fittings removed
i then sanded everything using 40-80 grits using the combination of orbital and drum sanders to get back to bare alu
i then stepped up to 120 grit

i found that using an angle grinder definitely took the layers of paint off faster, but dust collection was a problem and i found that the angle grinder scratched the aluminum too heavily even with 80-grit flap wheels.  it turns out the primer goes on thick enough that these scratches didn't matter

i choose to go with Totalboat products.  I have zero experience but they were the only vendor that had an entire line of products to accomplish this task and i was afraid if i tried to mix products from different vendors something would go wrong.  at least in this case all the mixtures should be compatible and anything that goes wrong can only be blamed on the user

Here's what i ordered to do the boom, spreaders, masthead, and sheave separator plates

(1) quart alu etch
(1) quart surface dewaxer
(1) quart primer thinner 200
(1) quart brushing thinner 100
(2) quart alu barrier coat 2-part epoxy primer
(2) quart wetedge top coat
assorted rollers, cups, etc.

i learned the hard way to get rollers designed for solvents.  the non-solvent cheapies from lowes end up swelling and breaking apart after a bit.  also solo cups or the cheap plastic cups from shoprite end up melting

the primer and topcoat i used about 1-1/2 quarts total for 3 coats of each and i still have 1/2 quart left of each.  the thinners not much.  the quart of each thinner i still have quite a bit leftover.  i expect a gallon can of primer and topcoat will do the entire mast.