Loss of RPM

Previous topic - Next topic

Noah

Did you dismiss or explore the injector suggestion?
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

Jeff Tancock

Talked to a local mechanic I know for a bit. He works on these engines quite a bit. He's too busy at this time of year to look at it any time soon.
He felt that the injectors couldn't be so bad that the engine would under perform in neutral. He gave me ideas on several things to check as I mentioned above.
I guess it's still a possibility though.
Thing is that the engine sounds smooth and seems to run well but it just tops out so early.
I'm planning on checking the RPMs too but it is still slow by at least a knot so that doesn't explain it.
Jeff Tancock
Stray Cat #630
Victoria, BC
Canada
1988 25xp

Noah

Sorry, I am not a mechanic—just trying to learn along with you. Good luck.
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

Ron Hill

Jeff : You might read my Mainsheet Tech note article on rebuilding your injection pump. The rpm was great in neutral, but bled off when in gear!!
After checking all of the many other things (injectors, fuel pump, fuel lines, Racor etc.) I finally removed the injection pump and had it rebuilt.  That was the problem!!

A few thoughts
Ron, Apache #788

Jeff Tancock

Thanks Ron
I've just ordered the injectors. None in stock.
I'll try to locate your article although unlike you I have lost RPM in neutral as well.
Tomorrow I am going to go over all the fuel lines, vent etc and look for any place for air to get into the system.
Jeff Tancock
Stray Cat #630
Victoria, BC
Canada
1988 25xp

Jeff Tancock

I'm hoping I ordered the right part nos.

70000-65209 for the injector and 17011-53620 for the gaskets...........
Jeff Tancock
Stray Cat #630
Victoria, BC
Canada
1988 25xp

Ron Hill