Join the C34 Association Today!
[C34 Home] [C34Tech Notes] [C34 Tech Wiki] [Join!]
Please login or register.
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: raymarine st 5000  (Read 207 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

davo

  • Forum - Seaman Apprentice
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 8
  • 1993 C34 mk 1.5
    • View Profile
raymarine st 5000
« on: April 03, 2019, 05:47:38 AM »

Hi
looking at C34 1993. it has a Yanmar 38hp and appears to be in great shape well maintained. listed at 57 I countered 48 he countered 50. It has a 2011 st 5000. In the posts I've read they say it has a lot of problems. Any thoughts?
Logged
Sailing is healing

Jim Hardesty

  • Forum - Master Chief Petty Officer
  • *******
  • Karma: 10
  • Posts: 1018
    • View Profile
Re: raymarine st 5000
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2019, 07:03:02 AM »

My 2 cents.  Electronics change/improve so quickly it wouldn't be a deal maker/breaker for me.  If on your survey/test sail check it out and if it doesn't perform use that to negotiate.  Worst thing, you buy an  Raymarine evolution autopilot Think I paid $1100 for mine and was an easy install and a fine improvement over the st400+
Jim
Logged
Jim Hardesty
2001 MKII hull #1570 M35BC  "Shamrock"
sailing Lake Erie
from Commodore Perry Yacht Club
Erie, PA

davo

  • Forum - Seaman Apprentice
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 8
  • 1993 C34 mk 1.5
    • View Profile
Re: raymarine st 5000
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2019, 09:22:49 AM »

thanks
Logged
Sailing is healing

Stu Jackson

  • C34IA - Secretary
  • Forum - Master Chief Petty Officer of the Navy
  • ********
  • Karma: 68
  • Posts: 7382
    • View Profile
Re: raymarine st 5000
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2019, 08:18:21 PM »

davo,

Please understand that my boat has an ancient ST3000!!!

IIRC, the st5000 required a rudder position indicator to make it work properly.  The RPI may, I say MAY, work with the newer ev1000, which also, IIRC does require one, so check the specs out.

If you do have a RPI, and it works with both models, then all you're doing is swapping out the head end unit, and it could be a simple job.

If you don't have an RPI, then you will most likely need to add one, because everything I've read on many boating forums, indicated that the APs just do not work without one.
Logged
Stu Jackson, C34 IA Secretary, #224 1986, "Aquavite"  Cowichan Bay, BC  Maple Bay Marina  SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)

"There is no problem so great that it can't be solved."

mark_53

  • Forum - Petty Officer 1st Class
  • *****
  • Karma: 2
  • Posts: 330
    • View Profile
Re: raymarine st 5000
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2019, 11:47:23 AM »

davo,

Please understand that my boat has an ancient ST3000!!!

IIRC, the st5000 required a rudder position indicator to make it work properly.  The RPI may, I say MAY, work with the newer ev1000, which also, IIRC does require one, so check the specs out.

The EV100 does NOT require a rudder position sensor.  I know, I have an EV-100 and no rudder position sensor.  Works fine on inland waters for passage making.  I don't integrate with wind instrument.  Under sail, gusts of wind can be problematic but for under power it works fine.

If you don't have an RPI, then you will most likely need to add one, because everything I've read on many boating forums, indicated that the APs just do not work without one.
It may be recommended but not required.
Logged
1989 C34 Mk1 M25XP

The Green New Deal is coming...just keept the government out of the way!

davo

  • Forum - Seaman Apprentice
  • *
  • Karma: 0
  • Posts: 8
  • 1993 C34 mk 1.5
    • View Profile
Re: raymarine st 5000
« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 07:35:07 AM »

Hi again,
  I have a maxwell VC 500 windless it works fine on the rope but the chain has to be pulled up by hand. Maxwell doesn't make a conversion kit for it. I don't want to spend the money for a new one and installation (if you can w/o major modification) any ideas
Logged
Sailing is healing

Noah

  • Administrator
  • Forum - Master Chief Petty Officer
  • *******
  • Karma: 19
  • Posts: 1465
    • View Profile
Re: raymarine st 5000
« Reply #6 on: Yesterday at 10:04:13 AM »

Just wrap the chain around existing drum. It will work. Some have complained using it that way can cause the chrome plating to chip off and make metal shards in the your anchor rode and hands. If that is an issue you can preemptively wire wheel/grind/buff the chrome off of the drum to bare bronze.
Logged
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig
Pages: [1]   Go Up