Haul Out odds and ends

Previous topic - Next topic

Kevin Henderson

I took Pau Hana to Shelter Island Boatyard here in San Diego last week for haulout.  This is my first time going through this drill, so the learning process has been pretty intense.  Firstly, I highly recommend this yard. They have been attentive and professional but even more importantly it is one of those rare yards here in So Cal where a boat owner is welcome to come in and do some work on your own boat during off yard working hours.  I was not fully prepared for all the things I could do during a haulout but I think I got most of the big items taken care of.

Bottom paint - Interlux Ultra Epoxy with 67% copper. 2 coats on the bottom and 3 along the splash line.
My rudder was mostly dry although it had a very small amount of wetness at the base and required no action.
Through hulls - All through hulls were inspected and found to be sound.  Lanacote was applied from above and below and worked through several times.
shaft packing - I was not certain as to the material previously used for packing on my propeller shaft.  After reading extensively in this forum concerning the pros and cons of a dripless PSS or to use the GFO (Gore) packing material I opted for the GFO.  My reasons stem from the information found here and after talking to my outfitter in the yard.  He express concerns that the PSS with a bellows is an excellent choice for higher RPM type of craft and for those that don't mind finding a way to a "quick" haulout if it needs service.  I am an independent type of soul and an avid do it yourself and decided upon the GFO for ease of serviceability and the fact that it can still be used in such a manner as to render it virtually dripless in design.  John at Western yacht commissioning walked me through the process of changing out the material while it was on the hard so that I could easily do it on my own in the water when it eventually will need to be replaced.