Bill Asbury

Heatgun or Sanding Preferred?

Thanks
asbury
Bill & Penne
Sanderling 2005 C34MKII 1686
Chesapeake Bay

Craig Illman

Heat gun is faster, but you have to be careful not to scorch the teak.

Craig

Ron Hill

Asbury : After 20 seasons, I found that taking the teak off the boat is the way to go!  Then I put the flat pieces on a table belt sander (easy does it!!) to get off the Cetol/varnish/what ever.  Then use a finishing sander
On the curved pieces (hand holds) I make a scraper and then finish off with a finishing sander.  If you have plugs to remove use a forrester bit to get a clean outer cut - as those plugs are caulked in!!

It's sooo much easier, goes MUCH faster and you can put the required coats of Cetol/refinishing product on at home (at least on the edges) and finish up on the boat after remounting.
A few thoughts.   :thumb:
Ron, Apache #788

Bill Asbury

Craig & Ron, thanks for your responses.  I'm just learning how to use the mesage board and that was my first post.  Tried the heat gun and scraper which seemed to work ok but hadn't thought of removing teak from boat to work on, tho don't have belt sander at home.  Still, sounds like might be good idea to remove wood and take home to work on.  Unfamiliar with how message board works so assuming this message is going to both of you.

Kind regards and thanks again!

Bill 

Bill & Penne
Chesapeake Bay

Stu Jackson

Hi, Bill, and welcome to the C34 Message Board.  As a board, ALL of the material is available to everyone and is always "ON" to read and search for information.  This is NOT an "email List," it's full time, real time, and, some would say, usually on topic for technical information.

For some "beginner's" information, try these links to help you out and get started:

Identification:  http://c34.org/bbs/index.php?topic=1506.0

Technical Resources:  http://c34.org/bbs/index.php?topic=3362.0  (use the links in this thread to wander around and find information)