Dry Ice

Previous topic - Next topic

Craig Illman

I'm going out for my first full week on my boat since I bought her in February. My local Safeway sells dry ice by the pound and the little brochure talks about putting it in a cooler with normal crushed ice to extend it's life. Has anyone used dry ice with normal ice in their icebox? It's not too warm up in Puget Sound, we're running with highs in the 80's this week. Water temp will be in the 50's.

Craig Illman
Espresso #1150  1991

wilsonlb

I have no firsthand knowledge of this, but my gut says this would be a bad idea.  Water (and water ice) are much better conductors of heat than air, so I'd guess that a blanket of cold water and ice would melt your dry ice faster than a blanket of cold air.

In other applications I've put a dry cloth on top of the dry ice to help preserve it.

I don't know why you'd want to go to the effort and expense of using dry ice at all, but my inclination - if I were to use dry ice - would be to cool the box with water ice first, drain the water, then put in the dry ice.

On the other hand, I've been wrong about many things many times before.

Paul Blumenfeld

The dry ice will help last longer but be sure not to mix with water, it will go away quick!  Fun to play with though.  I've got  a re-fridge now but use to use 1/2 gal or 1 gal frozen blocks of ice.  I think they may last even longer than the dry ice.
Ali'ikai #312
Channel Islands, CA

Mike Smith

I haven't tried dry ice, although Wally World sells it here.  I have a Norcold unit and, to help it along, I freeze a couple of plastic gallon jugs of water and drop them in the icebox.  This keeps the crushed ice from melting so fast.

Mike

Ken Juul