Plumbing questions

Previous topic - Next topic

Jon W

There are two engine hoses connected to the water heater. One goes to the water heater, and the other is the return from the water heater. They are coolant hoses not water hoses.
Jon W.
s/v Della Jean
Hull #493, 1987 MK 1, M25XP, 35# Mantus, Std Rig
San Diego, Ca

Ron Hill

Dan : Go to your C34 Owner's Manual ( or in our WiKi) and on page 4.3.3 - it has the diagram of the Plumbing Schematic!!!

Any hose running thru the hanging locker is a Previous Owner installed hose - going to??  Maybe for an anchor washer???  or unknown???

A few thoughts   :shock:
Ron, Apache #788

KWKloeber

Quote from: melp64 on August 15, 2023, 12:35:35 PM

Isn't there water hoses coming off the engine going to the water heater? Those are the hoses I am referring to but as someone stated I am new to this big of a boat with all the different systems.

Dan as Jon explained they are engine coolant hoses.  Look at the engine cooling diagram that I had corrected.  The Water Heater is nothing more than another (albeit huge) Heat Exchanger.  Hot coolant travels from the engine (from the bottom of the Thermostat housing) and heats the potable water that's inside the WH as it passes through it on its way back to the engine (to the top of the closed cooling system pump (not seawater pump).)  The diagram shows two parallel coolant loops, one loop to the Heat Exchanger above the transmission and the other coolant loop to the second heat exchanger (WATER HEATER!!  8) )

If you are new to the boat and know nothing about the condition of the WH I suggest using a pressure test to verify that there is no pinhole leak in the engine coolant tube inside the tank.  If the tube is compromised with a pinhole, under some conditions toxic engine coolant can be forced into the potable water system (which is obviously not good for health.)  It's rare but better safe than....

-Ken