10:1 outhaul?

Previous topic - Next topic

Bill Shreeves

In the process of replacing the internal boom outhaul.  I see that CD has 10:1 outhaul but, since I don't have in-mast furling, is there a need to increase from the factory outhaul?  I intend to buy parts locally and not buy the 10:1 from CD.  Is there a need to generate that much tension on the foot?

Since I'm still new at sailing my own boat that I don't tare down and trailer away each day, should some tension on the outhaul be relaxed when not sailing allowing the foot of the sail to relax?  Also, the existing outhaul line is 15over ' long.  Why would it need to be that long?
The only thing that always works on an old boat is the owner...

Bill Shreeves
s/v "Begnnings" 1987 Shoal Draft #333
M25XPB, Worton Creek, MD

Noah

Lots written here on Forum about this. I opted for 10:1 internal and it works fine. Some say not necessary? I made mine with "off the shelf parts" at the same time that I painted and redid standing rigging and some of the running rigging.
1990 hull #1014, San Diego, CA,  Fin Keel,
Standard Rig

Ron Hill

Bill : I'm not too sure why you'd need a 10:1 outhaul??  The factory outhaul that you have is a 3/4:1 which is more that enough. 
I tension the Mainsail foot in the spring and it stays that way till I remove the sail in the fall.

The main problem that I had was the internal line assembly (5/16" Dacron) was twisting because Catalina had use all swiveling blocks - when the block at the goose neck fitting should have been fixed instead of swivel.  There is a swivel block at the stainless cable attachment. 
Look in WiKi or page 4.1.6 of your owners manual or the one in our C34 web site.

You can get all the necessary replacement parts (if you need them?) at any chandlery. 

A few thoughts
Ron, Apache #788

Bill Shreeves