Fall 2016 Mainsheet Article: ST4000 Mk I Autopilots

Previous topic - Next topic

Breakin Away

I just looked at the Fall 2016 Mainsheet issue, and enjoyed John Nixon's excellent article on the Raymarine ST4000 series autopilots. It came about a month too late for me, as I had already experienced an autopilot failure on my new (to me) Catalina 34 about 2 hours into my maiden voyage. It turned out to be a shredded/dryrotted drive belt, which was easily fixed as described here:

http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/256778-need-help-diagnosing-raymarine-st4000-autopilot-post3575569.html#post3575569

I found a service manual online that helped to guide me through the repair, but John's article would have gotten me there faster, especially since it pointed me to the source for the aftermarket replacement belts (whom I found myself, but not until after much searching).

Although I am brand new to the black-ring Mk I version of the ST4000, my prior boat (C250WK) had the gray-ring Mk II version, so I've learned a number of things that apply to both. I'll share a few here:

• Drive tension adjustment is critically important IMO. Too loose and the wheel will slip in heavy conditions, too tight and the clutch may fail to disengage. I believe that, for some people, this adjustment may be at the heart of the ratcheting noises that John describes (although the drive ring distortion that he describes is also an interesting observation the I'll have to look out for). The service manual describes a very detailed procedure for adjusting tension which involves measuring motor amperage under load, etc. I did not have the right electrical connectors for that, so instead I followed a different procedure described in the Sailnet link above.