Solar Help

Previous topic - Next topic

DaveBMusik

Usable space on my Bimini is not as much as I had hoped (window on front & zipper for backstay through the center of back) so I am looking at two square panels - one on each side of the zipper.

I'm new to the solar scene. What would be better 2 50W panels @ 2.83 Amps & 17.64 V or two 64W panels @ 5.3A but 10V?
I have a four battery (Trojan  105's) house bank and am considering a Blue Solar (Victron) MPPT https://www.victronenergy.com/solar-charge-controllers/mppt7510. It has bluetooth capability so you can monitor battery state and solar charge status/history on a portable device rather than installing another display at the Nav station.

Would I need to wire the 10V panels in Series to bring the voltage up or use an MPPT with boost capability?

-sorry to display my ignorance....
Dave Burgess
Water Music
1986 C34 Hull #206, Fin Keel
Yanmar 3YM30
Noank, CT

Stu Jackson

Stu Jackson, C34 IA Secretary, #224 1986, "Aquavite"  Cowichan Bay, BC  Maple Bay Marina  SR/FK, M25, Rocna 10 (22#) (NZ model)

"There is no problem so great that it can't be solved."

patrice

Hi,

Hard to say about size of panel.  Do you have power during the week ?
I'm on a mooring, so all I have is solar to recharge. I have a 250W panel / MPPT controller.

I made my panel support to hold panel sideway after the backstay.
Made 2 arches clamped on an horizontal bar on the bimini frame.  Then I have two support to offset panel behind the backstay.
SO panel is over my bimini portion left behind backstay and not protruding bimini canva.

Here are some pictures I have.

1989 MKI #970
TR, WK, M25XP
   _/)  Free Spirit
~~~~~~

DaveBMusik

Thanks Stu! I had read some of his stuff before and especially like the analogy of voltage with air pressure.