Newbie Question - What Year Should I Buy or Avoid?

Previous topic - Next topic

Gee Cee

Hello.  I am a newbie and just about to buy my first boat.  I have done my research, and for a whole bunch of reasons, I know that I want a C34.  But my question is what year?  I will be able to do some of the maintenance myself, I'm not afraid to get dirty or learn, but I also know I am a newbie and I don't know what I don't know.  I was looking at buying something in the late 80s to mid 90s (mostly for price reasons too.)  Is it realistic for me to assume I could buy a boat like this and sail it for the next 5-10 years at this age point?  That's my plan so please feel free to give me any useful advice as I am listening.  Advice on what to stay away from is also much appreciated.  Thanks for your time. 

Ken Juul

Take your time and start looking at the different models.  late 80's had closed transoms called the MkI.  90/91 the walk thru transoms became standard called the MK1.5.  96 the wide stern MK2 started, not too many 95 boats, 92-94 are still Mk1.5 but are morphing toward the MK2.  Figure out what you want and what you don't want.  Add ons are more expensive than you may think.  If you wallet can afford it, a boat with some upgrades may be a better value than a fixer upper.
Ken & Vicki Juul
Luna Loca #1090
Chesapeake Bay
Past Commodore C34IA

Craig Illman

I agree with Ken, any upgrades you do on an older boat, that are standard on a newer boat, won't be reflected in a resale price, it will only sell faster. Buy something as new as you can afford (albeit in good condition). The step through sterns are really nice, but there's not a lot of inventory compared to the hulls from the late eighties.

Craig

Stu Jackson

Welcome,

Here is the discussion of the different models:  http://www.c34.org/wiki/index.php?title=History

Ken & Craig are right about add-ons and equipment.

One extremely important issue is, like real estate's location, CONDITION, CONDITION, CONDITION.